Professor Brian J Caldwell

Professor Brian J Caldwell

professor brian j caldwellProfessor Brian J Caldwell is Managing Director and Principal Consultant at Educational Transformations Pty Ltd in Melbourne and Professor Emeritus at the University of Melbourne. He holds the degrees of Bachelor of Science (1962) and Bachelor of Education (1968) from the University of Melbourne, and Master of Education (1975) and Doctor of Philosophy (1977) from the University of Alberta. He was awarded the degree of Doctor of Education honoris causa by the Hong Kong Institute of Education in 2012.

From 1998 to 2004 he served as Dean of Education at the University of Melbourne. His previous appointments include Head of Education Policy and Management (1995-1998) at the University of Melbourne; Head of Teacher Education (1988-1989) and Dean of Education (1989-1990) at the University of Tasmania; and Research Assistant Professor (1979-1981) at the University of Alberta, Canada. He has held leadership positions in schools in Australia (1963-68) and Canada (1968-1977). His major interests lie in leadership, governance, policy, finance and the management of transformational change in schools and school systems.

International work over the last 25 years includes more than 500 presentations, projects and other professional assignments in or for 40 countries or jurisdictions on six continents, including Australia, Bahrain, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, China Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Israel, Kenya, Korea, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar (Burma), Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Scotland, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States, Vietnam and Wales, with several assignments for the Asia Development Bank, Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), OECD, UNESCO, UNICEF and World Bank. He served as an associate director of the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust (UK) until 2012, supporting the Australian network of affiliates in its International Networking for Educational Transformation (iNet) project. He is a trustee of the Global Schools Innovation Network.

He has served as Wei Lun Visiting Professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Visiting Professor at the National College for School Leadership in England, Special Professor at the University of Nottingham, Provost’s Distinguished Visiting Scholar at the University of Southern California, Invitational Research Fellow for the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, and Honorary Professor at the University of Hull.

In addition to approximately 150 published papers, chapters and monographs, Brian Caldwell is author or co-author of books that helped guide educational reform in several countries, most notably the five books on self-managing schools, each with Jim Spinks: The Self-Managing School (1988), Leading the Self-Managing School (1992), Beyond the Self-Managing School (1998), Raising the Stakes: From Improvement to Transformation in the Reform of Schools (2008) and The Self-Transforming School (2013).

Other books include Creating an Excellent School (1989) (with Hedley Beare and Ross Millikan), The Return of the Mentor (1993) (with Earl Carter), The Future of Schools: Lessons from the Reform of Public Education (1998) (with Don Hayward), School-Based Management (2005) (for the International Academy of Education), Re-imagining Educational Leadership (2006), Why Not the Best Schools (2008) (with Jessica Harris), Our School Our Future (2010) (with David Loader) and Transforming Education through the Arts (2012) (with Tanya Vaughan).

Brian Caldwell was Chair of the Advisory Board of the Asia Education Foundation from 1998 to 2004. He was a director of the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) from 2003 to 2011, serving as Deputy Chair from 2009 to 2011. He is a Fellow and Life Member of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL) and a Fellow and Life Member of the Australian College of Educators (ACE). He was President of ACEL from 1990 to 1993 and was awarded its Gold Medal in 1994. He is Patron of ACEL (Victoria). In July 2005 he received the College Medal of ACE. In 2004 he was awarded the Sir James Darling Medal of ACE (Victoria) and the Hedley Beare Educator of the Year Award of ACEL (Victoria).

November 2013